My Health & Thigh High Fashion? Hmmm…

12 Apr

A Little Background

If you’ve been following me for a while you know I’ve had my share of health problems & food allergies. I won’t bore you with all the details here. Yesterday was a very beneficial doctor appointment with a rheumatologist. She did a very thorough evaluation and was not put off by the myriad of doctors I’ve seen and even recommended a couple more. Finally a Doctor who not only cares but is interested in my health.

About the Doctor

You can tell she is a research junkie, reading everything she can in order to keep up to date, the type that lives and breathes her work. She referenced a research article where a number of women were all highly fit suffering from similar symptoms of very low blood pressure, fatigue, inability to gain weight and spider veins.

The Solution is Fashion?

A friend of mine Lisa said her Dad, a surgeon, wore compression socks because he stood on his feet all day. He believed it prevented vein abnormalities such as spider veins. This information is widely known and used among other doctors too, the doctor yesterday shared some anecdotal stories with me about some medical conferences and wearing high heels & no compression socks. That by 3pm she would be passed out in the lobby.

I am on my feet all day while I work in my studio and these doctors believe that when you are on your feet all day your blood starts to pool to your feet which can cause fatigue as the blood has traveled away from your brain. The solution is compression socks but the medical variety may only needed if you have swelling which I do not…so the fashionable treatment is thigh high stockings or knee high stockings. The elastic in these socks will compress the leg and less blood will pool to the feet.

Seriously, could you see me walking around town wearing thigh highs? Probably not but you may see me walking around with running shorts and cute preppy knee high socks. Don’t judge me…it is for my health. ;)

Itty Bitty Photo Shoots (21)

Wellesley Market Place

2 Responses to “My Health & Thigh High Fashion? Hmmm…”

  1. Lisa Bonchek Adams (@AdamsLisa) April 12, 2012 at 6:57 am #

    I am so glad you liked the doctor and now are working as a team. I wore the thigh highs after my vein surgeries… I was actually impressed with how they stayed up and were not uncomfortable! My dad always opted for the knee high kind, of course ;) That said, they’d look way better on your legs than mine. I hope the stockings help you in the short term and that you can find a long term solution that might help more of your symptoms. xoxo

  2. Elizabeth-Polka Dot Skies April 12, 2012 at 7:19 am #

    I hope this helps you feel better! I had vein surgery several years ago due to an injury in college. I’ve seen some cute running skirts with knee high socks on the Running Skirts website! I think you can pull it off! :)
    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,400 other followers

