Sometimes you need to move in order to grow!

10 Apr

I am so thankful & lucky to have a supportive husband. I work hard during the day taking care of my girls. Recently I started getting some extra help with the little nuances that keep me from either spending time with my girls or working in my studio. It has been a tremendous help. Even with this…I find that sometimes there is still not enough time in the day to keep up with my workload.  Dr. appointments take up such a significant part of my week too. So I spend many evenings up in my studio and my sweet husband downstairs. My girls are now old enough & my quest this summer until a month ago to finish our basement was finally complete. We decided to move the playroom to the basement & I would take up space in the sun-room aka old playroom. It is twice the space I had before which was 6′x6′ and it is right off the living room. Maybe I can even get him to help me cut so me fabric ;-)

Martha Stewart was my source of inspiration for the coloring of my new space. Hers was called Graceful Gray but you can’t just select a paint color…you need to see it in your space to get the right shade. Some grays would be too light & others would look black. I think we were successful in selecting one that looks very close to this.

Getting the right desk was a very important part of the renovation. Right now my 3′x4′ desk is hardly long enough space to cut fabric and I’ve dinged the top quite a bit. So this time I went bigger & something that dings would add character. Hopefully it will arrive tomorrow. United House Wrecking was fabulous in helping me find the best one and giving me a great price on it.

Here I am you can see the yellow which in sunlight looks almost white next to my new color…

Lots of edging in this room. There are 7 windows & a huge built in cabinet. After 5 hours…it is complete! Can’t wait to move in…and to share some before and after pics or rather…old studio…before painted new studio…and after it is complete.

I did still manage to sew quite a bit today & will package those orders & ship off in the morning. :)

xo, Jen

 

2 Responses to “Sometimes you need to move in order to grow!”

  1. Jacquie | After Words April 10, 2012 at 8:19 am #

    It looks amazing! Can’t wait to come check it out in person!

  2. Lisa Bonchek Adams (@AdamsLisa) April 10, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    Looking forward to the “after” photo!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,400 other followers

