2010 Reflections + 2011 Predictions

5 Jan

Looking back on the sewing scene of 2010, what trends stand out in your mind?

How the sewing community in my own neighborhood has grown. That so many came out to my free class on Etsy at our local library. I think it is very interesting that several mid 30′s, early 40′s women are starting their own businesses and all of them include some amount of sewing. I think this is an amazing trend for our generation and our future generations, that not everything needs to be purchased and can be handmade.

What were some of your favorite things? (Trends, fabric collections, patterns, blogs? Whatever you really loved.)

I love love Riley Blake’s Quite Contrary line, it is like antique prints are making a huge comeback and I love them, my daughters middle name is Riley.

What was the best thing you made in 2010?

I love my burlap collection!

Burlap Beach Bag

Burlap Beach Bag

 

What is one of the best things you saw that was made by someone else?

I am obsessed with a few designers right now! I really love items that are upcycled or have a vintage look and anything with hand embroidery.

What do you think 2011 has in store?

I think in the wake of items not being made well, outsourced to another country, mass-produced, that handmade market places will continue to flourish. Items that are upcycled or have a vintage look will continue to do well. Why else would names from the past be so popular, like the names Abby & Emma. ;)

Anything you’re ready for the sewing world to get over?

Many people are still trying to copy other designers in the hopes that they will share the same success. Trying new things and finding what works for you is not always easy and takes time. Be patient, your calling will unveil itself just by trying new things.

What’s on your sewing agenda for 2011? What are you excited about?

I am really excited for 2011. I have so many new lovely fabrics & burlap and can’t wait to get started on my Spring line. All designers struggle at first with what will be your signature item and finding what works is hard and takes time. I think I found my niche and I can’t wait to see how it works out.

What would you like to learn more about?

I wish I could go back to school. At some point, I think we all say this too. I really wanted to go to art school but selected a different path. If I could go back, I would go to fashion/design school. I really love sewing, love textiles, love new ideas and playing with them. Being creative is so rewarding but is frustrating when you are self-taught. I learned a lot from my mom but it was sewing basics. I would love to learn techniques like smocking and many other types of sewing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,400 other followers

